From Observational Data to Information IG

IG

Group details

Secretariat Liaison: 
Lynn Yarmey
TAB Liaison: 
Paul Uhlir
IG Established
 

Our aim is to advance shared understanding of the relationship between data and information, primarily in the context of environmental research infrastructures for observational data and semantic information about observed environments. While commonly used, the terms data and information are poorly understood. Typically understood as the values organized in rows and columns, in reality there are observational data, experimental data, simulation data. There are feature, trend, geospatial data sets. There are primary data, secondary data, derivative data, operational data, metadata. Furthermore, we increasingly speak of mining information from data and transferring information into knowledge. However, what mined information is and how information is represented and recorded in research infrastructures remains obscure. Knowledge is even more complex. There is a need to clarify what data, information and possibly knowledge are, and how these concepts relate in the research infrastructure context. We provide a platform to advance this subject matter.



Recent Activity

20 Jun 2018

Draft session proposal for P12

All,
Please take a look at the draft session proposal for P12, Botswana. You can
find it here:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1h30oUclreQVAUof88aL__Qs6fCZ_2DEE_ytd...
We are planning to hold a session but we have also had discussions re: a
joint session with VRE IG. However, so far I have not received feedback on
VRE IG co-chair attendance. I have also been informed (but I have not been

19 Jun 2018

Re: [obs-data-info] Next Call June 20, 7-8 am UTC (Australia-Europe friendly)

Hi Markus,
Unfortunately, I will be travelling at that time and will not be able to attend.
Cheers
Jens
--
Dr Jens Klump
OCE Science Leader Earth Science Informatics
CSIRO Mineral Resources
E ***@***.*** T +61 8 6436 8828
On the road. Please excuse my brevity and spelling errors.
On 19 Jun 2018, at 09:48, jay.pearlman <***@***.***> wrote:
We are traveling back to Seattle. Have a good meeting.
Jay Pearlman, Ph.D. Fellow IEEE
IEEE France
Director, Four Bridges

19 Jun 2018

Next Call June 20, 7-8 am UTC (Australia-Europe friendly)

All,
This is the first Australia-Europe friendly call (assuming I got the time
zones right).
The call will be tomorrow, Wednesday, June 20, 7-8 am UTC (9-10 am CEST,
3-4 pm AWST, 5-6 pm AEST).
Connection: https://webconf.vc.dfn.de/rnwuwsex8a8k/
Meetings notes:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1X8UpTCB7m4can0E0FXNyG4tEpYReLwcJ8LXd...
Cheers, m.