Using the Research Graph and Data Switchboard for cross-platform discovery - DDRI Working Group

Type: RDA Recommendations & Outputs webinar

Date/Time: 27 April 2017, 13:00 CEST, 11:00 UTC (12:00 CET)

Presenter:

Dr Amir Aryani

Australian National Data Service

 

 

Overview: 

Driven by the rapid development of data storage technology, the number of data repositories is growing fast. Researchers now have access to a range of data infrastructures such as discipline-specific repositories and national (regional) data infrastructures. The problem is that these infrastructures are often operating in silos; that is, they do not connect their datasets to related research information in other platforms.

One solution to this problem is the work undertaken by the Data Description Registry Interoperability (DDRI) WG of Research Data Alliance (RDA). The group has developed the Research Data Switchboard which connects datasets and related information across research data repositories using information on co-authorship and jointly funded projects.

In this webinar, Dr Amir Aryani presents an overview of the Switchboard project and discuss how it enables connecting datasets to the Research Graph -- a distributed graph of scholarly works derived by the Switchboard project. Also, we will show a live demo of traversing the graph of connections between publications, datasets, researchers and research projects across repositories and data infrastructures.

Target Audience:

Research data managers, government agency representatives, data infrastructure managers, and technologists who are interested in interoperabilities between research infrastructures

View the webinar recording below.

 

Do you have any questions or suggestions?
Contact the webinar team and we will forward your question to the webinar presenters
webinars@europe.rd-alliance.org