New European Commission High Level Expert Group European Open Science Cloud 2017-18

You are here

23 Jun 2017

New European Commission High Level Expert Group European Open Science Cloud 2017-18

On 21 June 2017, the European Commission set-up the new High Level Expert Group European Open Science Cloud. Its mission is to advise the Commission on the measures needed to implement the European Open Science Cloud.

RDA Council member, Ross Wilkinson has been appointed as International Observer.

The new group, chaired by Silvana Muscella, CEO of Trust-IT Services, is composed of ten high-level experts from different European countries and two third-countries (Australia and US). Together, they have a complementary set of expertise related to various key aspects of the set-up of scientific data clouds, including standardisation, certification, procurement, delivery of federated services, business models, management, governance and funding of national and European research data infrastructures and e-Infrastructures: 

Isabel Campos Plasencia- Senior researcher at the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC)
Klaus Tochtermann - German National Library of Economics, Director
Linda Strick - Business developer at Fraunhofer FOKUS, Institute for Open Communication Systems
Andreas Mortensen - Professor and Vice-president for research of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL)
Žiga Turk - Professor at the University of Ljubljana
Toivo Räim - Adviser, Department of Research Policy, Estonian Ministry of Education and Research
François Robida - Deputy Head of Information Systems and Technologies Division at BRGM

International Observers
Ross Wilkinson - Director of Library Services and Leader of the KPA on Communications, Outreach and Open Access - Australian National Data Service
George A. Komatsoulis - Chief of Bio-Informatics at CancerLinQ LLC.

View the complete member profiles 

This Expert Group is therefore distinct from traditional advisory groups discussing the overall financing of research infrastructures including e-infrastructures (e.g. ESFRI, e-IRG and Horizon 2020-related groups).

To achieve its objectives, the group will collaborate with ongoing Horizon 2020 projects and national initiative contributing to the establishment of the EOSC, as well as with the Commission expert group on Turning FAIR data into reality and the Open Science Policy Platform, as well as with traditional advisory groups.

The group will run from June 2017 to end of 2018. The first meeting will be held on 29 June 2017 in Brussels and it is expected to meet 4 times and to produce a final report at the end of 2018 with recommendations on measures for implementation of the EOSC.


Read more ...