Skip to main content

Notice

The new RDA web platform is still being rolled out. Existing RDA members PLEASE REACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT using this link: https://rda-login.wicketcloud.com/users/confirmation. Please report bugs, broken links and provide your feedback using the UserSnap tool on the bottom right corner of each page. Stay updated about the web site milestones at https://www.rd-alliance.org/rda-web-platform-upcoming-features-and-functionalities/.

Ryan Coffee – Computing for Light and Neutron Sources – Webinar Mar 18th – Merging data visualization with experimental design for the future of Free Electron Laser science

  • Creator
    Discussion
  • #126541

    Dear all,
    the next CLNSF presentation will be by Ryan Coffee from SLAC/LCLS on “Merging data visualization with experimental design for the future of Free Electron Laser science”.
    The webinar will take place Wednesday Mar. 18th at 17:00 CET (16:00GMT, 09:00PDT, 11:00CDT). Please note the different (US) time, due to daylight time changes!
    To join the meeting just point your (flash-capable) browser to https://webconf.vc.dfn.de/clnsf/
    No registration required, but please provide your name at guest-login.
    For details, slides, recordings and upcoming talks please have a look at
    https://confluence.slac.stanford.edu/display/CLNSF/Home
    https://indico.desy.de/categoryDisplay.py?categId=333
    Please forward the information to interested colleagues, the webinars are open to everyone.
    Cheers, Frank.
    Abstract:
    In this webinar we will discuss how improved data visualization can facilitate experimental design for Free Electron Lasers (FELs). With the emergence of higher repetition-rate FELs, we must mature in our relationship to data acquisition, transfer, storage and analysis. By merging the best of x-ray science, ultrafast laser science, data science, and particle physics communities we can create a new breed of experimentalists who design the experimental hardware and software for flexibility and scalability. We will showcase some very simple examples where fluctuation analysis and redundancy can accommodate incomplete or corrupted data and detectors. We will find hidden uses for seemingly unrelated diagnostics. These examples will help motivate our need for improved real-time analysis to help us cope with the oncoming tide of data.

Log in to reply.