Provenance Patterns WG

WG

Group details

Secretariat Liaison: 
Stefanie Kethers
TAB Liaison: 
Sarah Ramdeen
Not yet endorsed
 

Tracking provenance for research data is vital to science and scholarship, providing answers to common questions researchers and institutions pose when sharing and exchanging data.

The tasks for this Working Group focus on finding, detailing and recommending best practices for provenance representation and management.

This group will conduct its work in the manner of a business analysis task: identifying business needs and determining solutions to business problems. Since RDA WGs are not themselves research groups (rather groups of researchers and research agencies), this group will look for existing practice and re-present that for use rather than generate new practice.


Recent Activity

21 Nov 2017

Meeting in 2.5 hours - item of interest

Dear Prov Group,
We have our Australian-friendly meeting in 2.5 hours’ time. Apologies for the extremely late notice!
In this meeting we will, of course, discuss our usual Working Group business but I’d also like to relate one item surely of interest to many of you:
* Geoscience Australia’s progression towards enterprise provenance management
* As of last week, I’ve left GA and now work for CSIRO due to family relocation issues so I’d like to sum up what was achieved, and what wasn’t regarding provenance in the two years that I was there.

06 Nov 2017

Comments on Patterns 12, 25 & 26 [SEC=UNCLASSIFIED]

Hi WG,
I have enabled comments on Patterns 12, 25 & 26:
http://patterns.promsns.org/pattern/12 - Associating metadata in documents with graph provenance
http://patterns.promsns.org/pattern/25 - Associating ISO19115-1 items with a provenance query service
http://patterns.promsns.org/pattern/26 - Associating ISO19115-1 items with a provenance query service #2

06 Nov 2017

Meeting in just over 24 hours [SEC=UNCLASSIFIED]

Dear Prov Patterns WG,
Our next meeting is on at the time below, in just over 24 hours. I have put up a draft agenda here:
https://github.com/RDAProvPatWG/minutes/blob/master/WG_Meeting_2017-11-0...
Of note for this meeting: we really do have to up our direct communication with other Groups now and I'd like us to review a couple of patterns or patter proposals that I've indicated in the draft minutes.

23 Oct 2017

Meeting in 45 hours [SEC=UNCLASSIFIED]

Dear Provenance Patterns WG,
We have a meeting in about 45 hours' time, see times below.
Catalogues & Provenance
Many people are interested in linking legacy metadata systems to future provenance systems. We are assisting with developing "provenance patterns" for organisational implementation issues, not pure provenance modelling issues. We will discuss the fiorst attempts at this in the WG.
Agenda
1. Minutes/actions from last meeting
a. Review moving of meeting notes to GitHub

09 Oct 2017

Prov WG meeting in 34 hours [SEC=UNCLASSIFIED]

Hi all,
We have out WG meeting in about 34 hours' time in the "European-friendly" timeslot. The time may have shifted an hour for some of you due to Australian daylight savings. A quick agenda for the meeting is below.
Cheers,
Nick
Agenda
1. Review of last meeting's minutes
* https://docs.google.com/document/d/1iPDYqYw-0Uxhjn_Z-Lbg8jXTrO29GzCmK8vS...

26 Sep 2017

Provenance Meeting in just over 25 hours

Colleagues, our regular Provenance Patterns Group meeting will begin in about 25 hours and ten minutes at the Australia-friendly time of 1:00 AM UTC. That's 8:00 PM Central Time in the US. Connection details below; I hope you can join us.
Dave
Connection
https://monash.zoom.us/j/276978584
Or, go to https://monash.zoom.us/join and enter meeting ID: 276 978 584
Join from a dial-in phone:
Dial: +61 3 99059666 (+61 3 9905 ZOOM) or +61 2 8015 2088

18 Sep 2017

WG meeting tomorrow in Montreal & remote [SEC=UNCLASSIFIED]

Hi all,
The WG's meeting is on tomorrow here in Montreal at 16:00 - 17:30 EDT (UCT-4), so in about 24 hours' time
Details https://www.rd-alliance.org/wg-provenance-patterns-rda-10th-plenary-meeting
Please note that video conferencing via GoTo Meetings is available for this meeting with details given in the link above.
Cheers,
Nick

12 Sep 2017

Provenance Meeting in just over 15 hours

Colleagues, our regular Provenance Patterns Group meeting will begin in about 15 hours and twenty minutes at the Europe-friendly time of 3:00 PM UTC. That's 10:00 AM Central Time in the US. Connection details below; I hope you can join us.
Dave
Connection
https://monash.zoom.us/j/276978584
Or, go to https://monash.zoom.us/join and enter meeting ID: 276 978 584
Join from a dial-in phone:
Dial: +61 3 99059666 (+61 3 9905 ZOOM) or +61 2 8015 2088

29 Aug 2017

Meeting in 23 hours [SEC=UNCLASSIFIED]

Hi all,
We have our next Australian-friendly provenance group meeting in 23 hours at the following time:
Los Angeles, USA Tue, 29 Aug 2017 at 6:00 pm PDT
Chicago, USA Tue, 29 Aug 2017 at 8:00 pm CDT
London, United Kingdom Wed, 30 Aug 2017 at 2:00 am BST
Paris, France Wed, 30 Aug 2017 at 3:00 am CEST
Berlin, Germany Wed, 30 Aug 2017 at 3:00 am CEST
Canberra, Australia Wed, 30 Aug 2017 at 11:00 am AEST
Agenda
1. Review of last meeting's minutes
2. Update on WG business