FAIR 4 RS webinars - 29/30 June

18 Jun 2020

The FAIR 4 Research Software Working Group (FAIR4RS WG) is conducting two webinars to update members on how you can engage with the WG on our aims to coordinate a range of existing community-led discussions on how to define and effectively apply FAIR principles to research software, to achieve adoption of these principles. We’re delighted to have over 80 members already!


The webinar will provide details of four subgroups that have been formed to advance the first aim of the WG, to define FAIR guiding principles for research software, and how to join these. The four subgroups will work until end of September 2020 on the following tasks:

  1. "A fresh look at FAIR for Research Software" will examine the FAIR principles in the context of research software from scratch, not based on pre-existing work. Lead: Daniel S. Katz
  2. FAIR work in other contexts will examine efforts to apply FAIR principles to different forms including workflows, notebooks and training material, to provide insights for the definition and implementation of FAIR principles for research software. Lead: Mateusz Kuzak
  3. Definition of research software will review existing definitions of research software and will specify the scope for the WG outputs. Lead: Morane Gruenpeter
  4. Review of new research related to FAIR Software will review new research around FAIR software that has come out since the release of the Towards FAIR principles for research software paper in August 2019. Lead: Neil Chue Hong

The same webinar will be offered at two different times, and a recording will subsequently be made available:

If you are not already a member of the FAIR4RS WG then you can join here to receive email updates. The FAIR 4 Research Software Working Group is jointly convened as an RDA Working Group, FORCE11 Working Group, and Research Software Alliance (ReSA) Taskforce.


If you have any questions then please contact info@researchsoft.org. We look forward to collaborating with you!


Michelle Barker, Jen Harrow, Neil Chue Hong, Leyla Garcia, Morane Gruenpeter, Daniel S. Katz, Mateusz Kuzak, Paula Andrea Martinez, Fotis E. Psomopoulos