CFP: AgroSEM'17 at MTSR'17 November 28 - December 1, Tallinn, Estonia

31 May 2017
Groups audience: 

Apologies for cross-posting
Paper Submission Deadline: 15th June 2017
Special track on Metadata and Semantics
for Agriculture, Food & Environment (AgroSEM'17)
11th International Conference on
Metadata and Semantics Research (MTSR'17)
November 28th -- December 1st 2017,
Tallinn University in Tallinn, Estonia
The 10th edition of the Special Track on Metadata and Semantics for Agriculture, Food & Environment is hosted by MTSR?17, the 11th International Conference on Metadata and Semantics Research and will be held at Tallinn University in Tallinn, Estonia from November 28 - December 1, 2017.
This track aims to bring together academics, researchers and practitioners that are dealing with theoretical, methodological, experimental and application-oriented aspects of metadata, ontologies and semantics research, applied to agriculture, food and environment. It aims to serve as a discussion forum where researchers and interested experts will present the results of their work, and establish collaboration with other groups that are working on related subjects. In addition, it aims to outline the rich potential of these subjects as an application field for advanced metadata- and semantic-driven systems and services.
Important Dates
* 15th June 2017: Submission deadline for papers
* 15th July 2017: Notification of acceptance
* 20th August 2017: Camera-ready papers due
* 28th November - 1st December 2017: Conference in Tallinn University, Tallinn (Estonia)
Topics include but are not limited to contributions dealing with the following issues in the context of agriculture, food & environment:
* Typology of metadata and metadata implementations
* The value and cost of metadata
* Quality evaluation in the use of Metadata
* Metadata reusability
* Empirical studies on metadata and/or ontologies usage
* Ontologies and Ontology-based Knowledge Management Systems
* Linked Data and its applications
* Use and re-use of digital data
* Content discovery services, search, information retrieval and data visualization applications.
Paper Submission
The following types of submissions are invited:
* Full papers (12 pages) reporting complete research
* Short papers (6 pages) presenting ongoing or preliminary research
* Posters (4 pages)
Submissions should be original and not previously submitted to other Conferences or Journals. All submissions will be reviewed on the basis of relevance, originality, importance and clarity following a double-blind peer review process. Submitted papers have to follow the LNCS proceedings formatting style and guidelines ( Authors of accepted submissions will be asked to register to the Conference and present their work in the form of either oral presentation or poster presentation.
Interested authors can submit to EasyChair
Conference Proceedings
Proceedings will be published by Springer in the Communications in Computer and Information Science (CCIS) book series ( CCIS is abstracted/indexed in Scopus, SCImago, EI-Compendex, Mathematical Reviews, DBLP, Google Scholar. CCIS volumes are also submitted for the inclusion in ISI Proceedings.
Other Publication Opportunities
Selected papers might be considered for a revised and extended version to be published in a range of international journals, including the International Journal of Metadata, Semantics and Ontologies (Inderscience) ( and Program (Emerald) (
There are two types of awards: the Best paper award and the Best student paper award, both sponsored by euroCRIS (
* Best paper award: This award will be presented to the authors of the best full research paper submitted and presented to the conference.
* Best student paper award: MTSR sponsors a paper competition to recognize excellence in a conference paper contribution whose primary author is a student (normally at a PhD or MRes level). The student is required to present the paper at the MTSR 2017 conference. Submissions are evaluated on their originality, scientific merits, structure, and clarity of composition.
We look forward to see you in Tallinn, Estonia!
Special Track Chairs
Liliana Ibanescu, AgroParisTech & INRA (France)
Juliette Dibie. AgroParisTech & INRA (France)
Special Track Program Committee
Ioannis Athanasiadis
Patrice Buche (INRA, IATE, Montpellier, France)
Caterina Caracciolo (FAO of the UN)
Johannes Keizer (GODAN)
Stasinos Konstantopoulos, NCSR ?Demokritos? (Greece)
Claire Nédellec (INRA, France)
Jr. Ivo Pierozzi. Embrapa Agricultural Informatics (Brazil)
Armando Stellato (University of Rome "Tor Vergata", Italy)
Maguelonne Teisseire (Irstea Montpellier, France)
Jan Top (Wageningen Food & Biobased Research, The Netherlands)
Robert Trypuz (John Paul II Catholic University of Lublin, Poland)